Makeover: Meatless Munchies

Although I would love to bake and cook like Ina Garten every time I enter the kitchen, that, unfortunately, is not the most realistic approach. When I can’t be Bobby, Paula, or Ina I draw inspiration from another one of my favorite Food Network chefs: Lisa Lillien aka Hungry Girl.

Just like Hungry Girl, I aim to satisfy my cravings without overindulging. I look for methods and new ingredients that simplify recipes. My recipe makeovers make my recipes easier and my favorite foods healthier.

Today I am sharing two recipe makeovers:

Buffalo Cauliflower Wontons

Ingredients: 1 lb frozen cauliflower florets6 wedges blue cheese (Laughing Cow)2 tbsp wings sauce (Frank’s Brand)3 dozen wonton wrappers, covered with a moist towel.

Directions1. Preheat oven to 350°F 2. Defrost the cauliflower in a microwave-safe bowl until soft (approximately 10 minutes) 3. Use a fork to break up the cauliflower 4. Mix the cheese and hot sauce with the cauliflower until well combined 5. Prepare one wonton wrapper at a time, leaving the remaining wrappers covered with a moist towel 6. Place approximately 2 teaspoons of filling in the center of the wonton wrapper 7. Moisten all the edges of the wonton wrapper with water and fold the wrapper corner to corner to create a triangle 8. Seal the edges using your fingers 9. Bake wontons on a non-stick baking sheet coated in non-stick cooking spray for 10 minutes, flipping the wontons halfway through the baking time

Spanakopita Wontons

Ingredients: 1 lb frozen spinach, chopped6 oz fat free feta cheese, crumbled2 tbsp reduced fat parmesan, shredded1 garlic clove, chopped3 dozen wonton wrappers, covered with a moist towel.

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350°F 2. Defrost the spinach in a microwave-safe bowl until soft (approximately 5 minutes) 3. Mix the cheeses and garlic with the spinach until well combined 4. Prepare one wonton wrapper at a time, leaving the remaining wrappers covered with a moist towel 5. Place approximately 2 teaspoons of filling in the center of the wonton wrapper 6. Moisten all the edges of the wonton wrapper with water and fold the wrapper corner to corner to create a triangle 7. Seal the edges using your fingers 8. Bake wontons on a non-stick baking sheet coated in non-stick cooking spray for 10 minutes, flipping the wontons halfway through the baking time

Bloopers:

I also tried to make skinny mozzarella sticks. I made one batch by wrapping string cheese in wonton wrappers. I made a second batch by coating the cheese sticks in seasoned panko breadcrumbs. Unfortunately, both were failures and have landed themselves in the blooper section. I anticipated that the cheese would melt during the baking process, and therefore, I froze the cheese. As you can see, the cheese still melted in the oven. I will keep testing these out so I can eventually add them to the list of meatless appetizer makeovers!

Bake up. Eat up.

p.s. a HAPPY HAPPY BIRTHDAY to my polar bear, popcorn, adventure loving friend…AMANDA!!!!!!

One thought on “Makeover: Meatless Munchies

  1. Haha, bloopers. I just LOLed. Also, I want to make these wontons with buffalo chicken and blue cheese! I’ll guest post after I try!

Leave a Reply

