Q+A with Julia Turshen

Welcome to Day 2 of Guest Blogger Week!!

I feel touched by greatness (Hey Pinecliffe) to be able to say that I know Julia Turshen. She is the ultimate epicurean, and any foodie would dream to follow in her footsteps.

Julia Turshen is a chef and food writer. Julia co-authored Spain: A Culinary Road Trip with Mario Batali and Gwyneth Paltrow. She also worked with Gwyneth Paltrow on her book, My Father’s Daughter.

You can read my Q+A with Julia here on Fun.Fit.Foodie, but make sure to read more from Julia on GoopFood & Wine, and Epicurious.  Check out Julia’s website and also an article she wrote for Gourmet!

Side Note: Julia once gave me this apron as a gift. Thanks to her I now know so many pasta varieties!

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Is there any food you refuse to eat? Any ingredient you hate to cook with?

When it comes to eating, I will try anything and like most everything.  I am a little bit more particular when it comes to cooking and while I’ll try to make anything work, there’s nothing sadder than an overripe avocado!

What is the kitchen gadget you can’t live without? 

My hands!  I also do love a good, old, well-seasoned cast-iron pan.

Where do you shop for food (farmers market, grocery store…)? Do you make and use a grocery list?

I cannot live without my grocery lists.  I depend on them and love making them and especially love crossing things off on them.  I shop everywhere—farms and farmer’s markets, fancy cheese stores and bodegas too.  I also have a secret obsession with Fresh Direct when I cook in Manhattan because it eliminates all the schlepping.

Where is your favorite place to cook? Who is your favorite person to cook for? 

I’ve been lucky enough to have been able to cook in some beautiful places and in some pretty extraordinary kitchens, but lately I’m really loving cooking at home in my nothing special kitchen.  It feels super calm, which is an incredible ingredient.  And I think I’d have to say my big brother Ben is my favorite person to cook for because he combines the most impressive appetite with a lot of appreciation.

If you had to plan your ideal eating day in NYC, where would you eat and what would you eat?

Eggs and coffee at Balthazar early in the morning, a cod sandwich or the salt-crusted shrimp and a caesar salad in the late afternoon at Pearl Oyster Bar and then I’d make margaritas and dinner with my best friend at her mom’s apartment and get too full on potato chips while we’re cooking.

Recipe Bonus: Julia’s go-to recipe!!

JULIA’S TURKEY MEATBALLS


One thought on “Q+A with Julia Turshen

Leave a Reply

