Post-Workout Beauty Products

Please welcome Dori to Fun.Fit.Foodie’s Guest Blogger Week!!!

Dori is not only the 4th Kohn girl (I don’t want to offend anyone…there are lots of 4th Kohn daughters!), but also a beauty product expert! Readers, get comfortable with Dori, because she will be a frequent guest on Fun.Fit.Foodie!

_______________________________________________________________________________________

Well hello Fun.Fit.Foodie followers! I am honored to have the privilege of guest blogging for the fabulous Abby and sharing some of my beauty secrets with you.

As a beauty editor for Family Circle magazine (which I certainly hope you all are reading!) and a freelance blogger for elle.com (secret: I also go by Beth Cohen), I am constantly inundated with lip glosses, moisturizers, hair sprays and beyond. My bathroom looks like Sephora, but on a much smaller scale.

But aside from being a beauty junkie, my other obsession is exercise (clearly Abby and I have something in common). I’ll try any class at least once, and love the pumped up feeling of just-finishing a major sweat session. What I don’t love: the scary vision that stares back at me when I look in the mirror after one of these workouts. So in the spirit of beauty and fitness, I thought I would share my post workout products that I can’t live without.

I’ll admit, I’m a big sweater, especially on my face and hairline. I’m not one of those girls who can just take down their ponytail after working out and look fabulous. Prolonging a blowout is a two-step process for me. First, I wear a dry-fit exercise headband (Lululemon has some great ones) right along my hairline to absorb as much sweat as possible. I pull my hair back into either a not-too-tight ponytail or a high loose bun. If you are a bun wearer, you absolutely must try Goody’s spin pin– it will be your new best friend. After I’ve finished my workout and quickly rinsed off in the shower, I take down my hair and move on to the next step: dry shampoo. I’m a big fan of the brunette versions, so I don’t have to worry about blending and rubbing excessively to prevent a “dandruff-y look”. My current favorite is Keratin Complex’s Volumizing Dry Shampoo Lift Powder, but my beauty colleague swears by Batiste’s version. Just flip your head over, apply and either brush through or tousle with your fingers.

Now onto the face. For a quick wipe-down when you don’t have time to shower, I love Yes to Cucumbers Soothing Towelettes. They are super refreshing, smell great and even come in a 10-pack for your purse.

After I cleanse, I never feel like putting on a full face of makeup. Tarte’s Smooth Operator is the perfect solution. It’s a hydrating tinted moisturizer that has just enough coverage to get rid of redness and even out your skin tone. Plus, it has tons of good-for-you ingredients, so you can feel good about applying it! Sometimes, I’ll dab on a drop of a cream blush in a peachy pink shade for a natural-looking flush, but often times my cheeks still have a little pink stain leftover from the workout.

I’ll finish with a few swipes of Benefit They’re Real Mascara – my latest lash obsession. It curls, lengthens and just makes your eyes pop, I promise!

So there you have it—my post-workout beauty routine.  It’s pretty quick and easy, so no excuses for skipping the gym!

Do you have an exercise makeup ritual?

One thought on “Post-Workout Beauty Products

Leave a Reply

