Johnny O’s is now Johnny Fro’s

There is no doubt in my mind that frozen yogurt is its own food group. It is a food group that can be consumed acceptably for a snack, breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Some frozen yogurt advice: you need a best friend that is lactose intolerant. Mine is Hayley. I always bring Hayley with me because she helps me sample every flavor. She gets samples and gives them to me. The perfect best friend 🙂

Hayley can attest for my FroYo addiction. She is embarrassed to get frozen yogurt with me because I interrogate the employees about the different flavors and toppings. At Tasti I insist that they weigh my cup to guarantee an accurate Weight Watchers point value calculation (as if .01oz is going to make my pants too tight the next day). I refuse to get flavors swirled, but instead, I like for them to be side by side. The flavors blend too much when they are swirled (duh).  I can’t help that I am particularly quirky with my frozen yogurt.

FYI. I am on a mission to try every Tasti flavor. I was well on my way, but then Tasti closed in Ithaca, and my food challenge was put on hold. My Tasti exploration will resume when I return to NYC in June.

Ever since Tasti closed, Ithaca has been lacking in the FroYo department. Thankfully Yogurt Crazy, aka (and the more popular name) Johnny Fro’s, opened on Wednesday in Collegetown. RIP Johnny O’s but don’t worry, I predict that Johnny Fro’s is still a goldmine for guys to pick up girls (just no longer the sweaty dumpy bar setting that Johnny O’s provided).

Here is my (overly opinionated) review of Yogurt Crazy. Given the fact that I went 4 separate times on opening day alone, I (think it’s about time I become mayor on Four Square) noticed a lot.  Compared to Jason’s frozen yogurt, Yogurt Crazy is flawless (everything is relative). I love that Yogurt Crazy has 10 different flavors (confused as to why two are vanilla varieties), but I am hoping that the flavors change frequently. The red velvet and cookies and cream are the best, hands down. There need to be more low-fat and non-fat flavors available daily. Yogurt Crazy: I want to try the pistachio flavor that is listed on the Yogurt Crazy website.

The smell coming from the freshly baked cookies and/or waffle cones is overwhelmingly amazing! The employees are all so friendly and efficient. On opening day there was an employee stationed by the machines to offer samples of the different flavors. Yesterday when I inquired about the lack of mochi (flaw, but I understand I probably am responsible for consuming every single mochi in Ithaca on opening day) the employee cutting the fruit apologized and promised mochi would be back. The employee who was checking me out on Thursday offered me a loyalty card. I mentioned to her that I was not offered one on Wednesday, expecting an extra stamp considering my higher than average number of visits. No such luck, but I am confident in my abilities to fill my loyalty card. Quick note on the loyalty cards: its buy 9 cups and get $3 off the 10th. Most frozen yogurt stores take the approach of the 10th cup being free, but Yogurt Crazy prices aren’t costing me an arm and leg like similar stores (cough cough 16 Handles).

On opening day I commented on the lack of garbage cans in the store. I noticed that a second garbage was brought in on Thursday. Small change…big difference!

The topping selections are superb! Candy rocks, peanut brittle, graham cracker crumb (my favorite), and carob chips (second favorite) are some of the great options. Some suggestions from my roommates: rainbow cookies, chocolate covered pretzels, cheesecake bites, and brownie bites.

Overall I could not be more excited about Johnny Fro’s. If Johnny O’s had to go, I am happy to see a frozen yogurt store in its place. Although the store has a Barney color scheme, I am happy to see that no filth from Johnny O’s was left behind.

I can confidently say that a day will not go by between now and graduation without a purchase at Yogurt Crazy! See ya there in a few hours, Alison!

Special thanks to Brittany for accompanying me on my many trips and taking pictures for me with her phone!

candy is available for sale by the pound

Yogurt Crazy Website

Yogurt Crazy on Facebook

4 thoughts on “Johnny O’s is now Johnny Fro’s

    • I would really like to try this place. Can we please go here during graduation weekend? Also, do they have pistachio frozen yogurt?

  1. Pingback: More Yogurt at Smart Yogurt | Fun.Fit.Foodie.

  2. Pingback: Sunday Nights Food Crawl | Fun.Fit.Foodie.

Leave a Reply

