Post-Workout Snacks

Okay so when I asked my friends if post-gym snacks should be my topic for Workout Wednesday the immediate response I got was “no snacks.” But supposedly the best time of day to eat is right after a workout. I try to eat after I workout because my body uses the consumed calories for muscle recovery rather than as fat storage.

On principle I do not consume calories in liquid form unless it is for a juice cleanse (or alcoholic); therefore, I do not immediately drink a protein shake or Gatorade. I don’t typically have a big appetite immediately after working out so I try to eat a light snack that is high in protein and/or carbohydrates. 45 minutes later, when I border on ravenous, I eat a more substantial meal that has some combination of lean protein, produce, healthy fats, and whole grains.

I always eat a whole piece of fruit about 30 minutes before I go to the gym to give me energy but also to keep me from reaching that starving point post-workout. Side note: if you take the whole fruit approach, try and keep the type of fruit consistent so your body can digest it easily.

Here are some of my typical snacks for after a workout:

1. Peanut Butter (I actually like PB2) and ½ Banana on fiber crackers (GG Bran Crispbread)

2. Peanut Butter and an apple (Favorites: Honeycrisp, Pink Lady, Fuji)

3. Hummus (I am obsessed with the Trader Joes Original Hummus made without tahini) with 10 baby carrots

4. Plain Yogurt (Favorite: Chobani Vanilla) and ½ cup Berries

5. Apple with laughing cow wedge

6. ½ cup shelled edamame

7. 15 raw almonds

8. Bar (Favorites: MacroBar, Gnu Bar)

Foods to avoid after a workout are those high in sugar (be careful with the drinks and bars) and foods high in sodium.

I hope this was helpful!

On a different note, I read this article yesterday in Fitness Magazine. It features fitness trends and moments from the last 20 years. Several features in the article got me laughing! If there was a fitness trend you could bring back which would it be?

Here is the Weekly Workout Mantra:

One thought on “Post-Workout Snacks

  1. Love it. I have to say I do enjoy my post-workout protein smoothies – coconut water, hemp protein, blueberries and either kale or frozen broccoli. (a little mango or agave to sweeten it is fine)

Leave a Reply

