Fitness Apps

Okay, I guess I should be ashamed to admit this, but anyone reading my blog already knows this about me…my phone is glued to my hands at all times. Additionally, I am a technology nerd who always needs the newest gadgets. So it is probably shocking that I am still in the Blackberry dark-ages, but I honestly believe that going back to my iPhone would hinder my social skills.

There is always at least one time every single day when I am not using my phone: when I workout. When I am running, spinning, or completing strength training my phone is not within reach (elliptical is a different story). I have never been able to read a book or use my iPad at the gym without it affecting my workout. I had no intentions of changing this until recently when I started finding fitness applications for my iPad. I have the Nike+ to track my workouts and hadn’t really found any apps that did more than track my workout progress until I came across this article. It highlights several fitness, eating, and sleeping applications. I use the Weight Watchers application for food tracking, and I am not in the market for sleep aids; however, the fitness apps caught my attention. I have gone ahead and downloaded the following apps onto my iPad and want to try them over the next few weeks (side note: I took my last exam yesterday, and I am finishing classes today. My graduation is May 27th…I have a lot of time to experiment with these new applications)

Nike Training Club

“Nike Training Club gives you your own personal trainer, anytime, anywhere. Get lean, toned and strong with more than 85 custom-built workouts. Unlock exclusive extra workouts from celebrities like Lea Michele, professional athletes like Shawn Johnson, and Rihanna’s personal trainer, Ary Nuñez.”

Nexercise

“Discover a new and exciting way to get motivated, lose weight, and stay in shape. Play with friends, earn rewards, defeat challenges, and track your progress on the largest fitness mobile interactive game of its kind.”

C25K

“C25K, is a fantastic program that’s been designed to get just about anyone from the couch to running 5 kilometers or 30 minutes in just 9 weeks.”

GymGoal Plus

“GymGoal provides images and detailed instructions for 230 resistance (strength training) exercises, plus 24 cardio exercises. 96 exercises are animated. You can add your own exercises.”

And for when I realize my iPad and I are not compatible at the gym I found these for my Blackberry:

GreatTrainer

“It lets you track your outdoor fitness activities, including walking, running, cycling, skiing, horseriding and more. it records your training sessions and provide you with visual and audio feedback of your activity. It uses the built-in GPS to provide you with feedback.”

Pushups Free/ Situps Free

“If you are serious about increasing your strength, then this application is for you. This application gives you a six week training program that will see you well on your way to reaching this heady target by investing no more than thirty minutes each week.”

 

Leave a Reply

